Go to end of page
Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.
How many will Hamilton steal in a full MLB season? I’m saying at least 100.
Woe to the modern-day prospect named Bill Bergen.
Billy Hamilton Steals Base in MLB Debut
That's got to be a contender for least surprising headline of the year.
Aaaaand... the same thing happened again tonight, except this time he pinch-ran in the bottom of the 14th, stole second, and scored the tying run on a single
It wasn't close to being interference. Molina tried awkwardly to feign it at the end of the play, but the ump wasn't buying his weak-ass ####. It was pretty ludicrous that the Cardinals even argued the play.
That said, I'm starting to wonder if Cards fans were named "best fans in baseball" because they whined and complained that they weren't named "best fans in baseball".
God clearly has not read the interference rule. It's 6.06(c), will take you five seconds to do so. The only noted exception is if he swings around and hits the catcher in the back of the head.
Batter was WAY out of the batter's box, one foot in the OTHER batter's box, and made contact with the catcher; was clearly a blown call.
I know the rule, thanks. But there was no contact made, and hence no interference.
Clearly you don't, since the rule doesn't say there has to be contact.
He's on pace for 24 steals, 24 runs, and no plate appearances!
Was he the guy that Johnny Bench threw out stealing twice or was he the guy that Mike Marshall picked off in the World Series?
Anyway, was a track star pinch runner ever tried again??
Bad throw by Molina. He should've been out.
The rule doesn't say there has to be contact, and it also doesn't say there doesn't have to be contact. Since the rulebook is imprecise on the physical definition of interference, umpires have, over time, developed a consensus interpretation of the rule. And anybody who's watched baseball knows that batter's interference is never called unless actual contact is made. That is the de facto rule. The non-interference call on the Reds tonight was absolutely consistent with the way the rule has always been called in baseball. Any claim otherwise is mere pedantry.
"My job was to score at all costs," Hamilton said. "Everybody knows that's what I'm here for."
You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.
Login to Join (1 members)
Page rendered in 0.3893 seconds, 57 querie(s) executed